Preloader logo


Fourteen “Traditional”, “Chivalric” and “Modern” Degrees – from the 19th to the 32nd inclusive, are conferred in a Consistory of Sublime Princes of the Royal Secret. Each Degree dramatizes its own unique and independent message and applies it to a familiar life situation.

In the area of morals, certain Consistory Degrees teach the ultimate victory of good over evil, the dignity of labor, the sacredness of duty and unselfish service as the test of one’s religious professions. A leader of men is taught that he must be righteous if he aspires to influence others and that he should listen, with open mind, to the lessons of the ages.

In social relations, the Consistory teaches that toleration is respect for the opinions and religious convictions of others; that he who judges others must himself be above reproach; that it is noble to forgive but ignoble to seek revenge; that a Freemason who commits a felony will not be shielded by his brethren; and that he should have faith in himself, in his fellowman, and in God.

In the area of national affairs, the Consistory holds firmly to the separation of Church and State and teaches that treason is a crime over which Masonry casts no mantle of charity. It proclaims that the crowning glory, in any human life, is that sacrificial love which impels one to lay down his life for a friend.

Officers - 2018-2019

Commander-in-Chief Daniel K. Rannebarger   Sunrise # 783
1st Lieutenant Commander Thomas Savage Lissa Triangle #748
2nd Lieutenant Commander Robert P. Freed   New England #4
Orator Stanley E. Kopp Carol Ashland #151
Chancellor Matthew F. Young   Hanover #115
Master of Ceremonies Adam B. Michael Danielle York #563
Captain of the Guard Michael J. Dankert Yukiko Blendon # 339
Color Bearer Open Position    
Standard Bearer Open Position    

Past Commanders-in-Chief

Ill. Jeff L. Rannebarger Beverly 2016 to 2018
Ill. Brian Bolyard Janet 2014 to 2016
Ill. John E. Hollback Gwen 2012 to 2014
Ill. Steven L Smiseck Wendy 2010 to 2012
Ill. Timothy B. Strawn   2008 to 2010
Ill. Dow T. Voelker Brenda 2006 to 2008
Ill. Steven E. Cokonougher Rebecca 2004 to 2006
Ill. James M. Thompson Susan 2002 to 2004
Ill. Mark Watters Jeannie 2000 to 2002
Ill. David D. Mowry Kathy 1998 to 2000
*  Ill. William D. Chisholm   1996 to 1998
Ill. Edward W. Efurt, III Jane 1993 to 1996
Ill. Terry D. Van Horn Karen 1992 to 1993
Ill. James R. Burgoon Joanne 1990 to 1992
* Ill. William Ammer   1988 to 1990
* Ill. Kenneth J. Kabelka Melba 1986 to 1988
* Ill. Frederick T. Williams Ann 1984 to 1986
* Ill. Richard S. Thomasson   1981 to 1984
Ill. James L. Foreman Dolores 1978 to 1981
* Ill. C. Neilson Griffith Geri 1975 to 1978
* Ill. Horace W. Troop, Sr.   1972 to 1975
* Ill. Daniel C. Jenkins   1969 to 1972
* Ill. Russell T. Goerke   1966 to 1969
* Ill. Irvin R. Lynch   1963 to 1966
* Ill George R. Fitez   1960 to 1963
* Ill. James J. Harbage   1957 to 1960
* Ill. Roscoe R. Walcutt   1954 to 1957
* Ill. George R. Schoedinger   1948 to 1954
* Ill. John E. Powell   1937 to 1948
* Ill. Sinclair B. Nace   1936 to 1937
* Ill. Frank C. McElroy   1931 to 1936
* Ill. John P. McCune   1900 to 1931

* Indicates Deceased

Interested in becoming active in the Scottish Rite?

“What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.”